Wednesday, October 04, 2006

Tiger Cup now the ASEAN Championship

The South East Asian regional football competition, known for 10 years as the Tiger Cup after its then sponsor, Tiger Beer, has had a name change. In 2007 is will be called the ASEAN Football Championship when the event is co-hosted by Thailand and Singapore. According to Worawi Makudi, the secretary-general of the Football Association of Thailand, the seventh edition of the competition will be held from 12 January to 3 February in 2007. The preliminary rounds will be staged in Thailand and Singapore, while the semi-finals and final will use the home-away format. Five nations - the Philippines, Laos, Brunei, Cambodia and East Timor - will contest the qualifying rounds and play for two berths in the finals. The qualifying event will be held in the Philippines from 12-20 November with the hosts taking on Laos in the curtain-raiser. The draw for the two-group first round will be staged in Thailand on 27 November.

No comments: