Malaysia announces 2007 Cup and League dates

The Football Association of Malaysia has announced that its prestigious Malaysia Cup competition will kick off in early February 2007. It previously started only after the completion of the league in the third quarter of the year but next season will go into action three months after the M-League kicks off with the Super League on 16 December and the Premier League on 22 December.

“The Super League has 13 teams following the withdrawal of Petaling Jaya Municipal Council (MPPJ) and the Premier League features 11 teams,” FAM Secretary General Dr Ibrahim Saad confirmed. The Malaysia Cup will see 18 teams vying for the honours with the group stage kicking off on 10 February, four days after the 28-team FA Cup starts. The FA Cup final will be held on 25 August and the Malaysia Cup final has been scheduled for 9 September.

For the Malaysia Cup, defending champions Perlis are in Group A with Selangor, Kuala Lumpur and three other club sides, Malacca Telekom, Johor Pasir Gudang and Johor FC. Group B has Penang, Terengganu, Kelantan, Malacca, Armed Forces and Negri Sembilan while Group C comprises Pahang, Perak, Kedah, Sabah, Sarawak and Police. The top two teams in the groups and two best third-placed teams qualify for the quarter-finals.