FIFA suspends funds to 22 Asian associations

The FIFA Executive Committee has determined that the dates for the final competition of the 2010 FIFA World Cup will be 11 June to 11 July 2010. The allocation of places will be the same as for 2006: Europe: 13; Africa: 5; Asia and Oceania: 5 (4.5 + 0.5; play-off); South America and CONCACAF: 8 (4.5 + 3.5; play-off); hosts (South Africa): 1. Oceania's preliminary competition will cover three phases: the South Pacific Games 2007, the OFC Nations Cup 2008 and culminating in the winning team entering a group in Asia's final round.

The FIFA Executive Committee also decided that payments from the FIFA Financial Assistance Program will be suspended until further notice for 59 member associations that still have not submitted their statutes to FIFA for inspection. This decision affects 22 associations from Asia.