Pakistan appointed host of 2007 President's Cup

The third edition of the Asian Football Confederation President’s Cup will be held in Lahore in April 2007, Pakistan Football Federation secretary general Arshad Khan Lodhi told a press conference at Football House. “The PFF is very serious about hosting international football events each year. The national federation hosted SAF Games in 2004, 6th SAFF Championships in 2005, the AFC U-14 Football Festival in 2006 and now the AFC President’s Cup will be hosted next year,” he said, as reported by the Daily Times.

Hicham El Amrani, AFC’s marketing manager and Sardar Naveed Haider Khan, PFF director of marketing, were also present to brief reporters about the annual eight-club show to be held at Punjab Stadium from 5-15 April. AFC President’s Cup will feature national champion clubs of eight countries. Nepal, Tajikistan, Chinese Taipei, Kyrgyzstan, Sri Lanka, Bhutan and Cambodia will join the winner of the Pakistan Premier League.