PSMS Medan takes third Bang Yos Gold Cup

PSMS Medan won the 2006 Bang Yos Gold Cup, the Governor of Jakarta's invitational tournament, its third consecutive victory, after defeating PSIS Semarang in a penalty shootout. PSMS won 3-1 after both teams tied 1-1 until the end of extra time. PSMS had led with a goal from striker Frank Seator in the 24th minute. However, after PSIS's Alfredo Figuero was fouled by PSMS defenders, a Julio Lopez kick from the penalty spot in the 41st put PSMS back even. The team defeated Persik Kediri, this year's Indonesian League winner, 2-1 in last year's final and beat Singapore's Geylang United 5-1 in 2004.

The two Australian state league clubs participating (Bulleen Zebras of the Victorian Premier League and Manly United from the NSW Premier League) did not post a win and collectively scored only two goals in their games against the four Indonesian national league clubs.