Sao Paulo brings youthful team to Super Soccer

India's football enthusiasts have been promised the "old magic" of international football with the Tata Group's revival of Super Soccer. The showpiece event, which brought in a host of clubs from Europe and Latin America between 1984 and 1994, has been brought back by the man who masterminded its inception more than 20 years ago, Aditya Kashyap. The former top functionary of the Tata Group, who is currently the president of the East Bengal state-based Indian Football Association, has refreshed his old contacts to see the rebirth of the tournament.

Brazil's Sao Paulo FC, made famous by its charismatic coach Tele Santana, is back in India for the third time - having participated in the first Super Soccer and then in 1989.

At least three Sao Paulo players were in the squad which won the Brazilian championship last season: goalkeeper Mateus, striker Caiuby and defensive midfielder Francisco Alex. Also in the touring squad is 20-year-old central defender Carlinhos who has a £3 million buy-out clause, defender Flavio Donizeti da Costa who was part of the 2005 Libertadores Cup and Club World Cup winning squads and midfielder Arthur who represented Brazil in the 2002 U-17 World Cup. The rest, Aditya Kashyap told Dhiman Sarkar of The Hindustan Times at a news conference, will be from Sao Paulo’s amateur and junior sides.

The 76-year-old club will play on 27 January Vs East Bengal (Siliguri); 31 January Vs Mohammedan Sporting (Jamshedpur)l; 4 February 4 Vs Mohun Bagan (Kolkata); 7 February Vs Kerala XI (Kochi) and 11 February Vs JCT (New Delhi, 2.30pm).

Sao Paulo FC Squad: Goalkeepers: Anderson Gonzaga Leal, Mateus Versolato Junior, Alex Graciani. Defenders: Francisco Alex Sousa Da Silva, Gustavo Calil Cazao, Flavio Donizeti da Costa,Carlos Henrique de Oliviera, Tiago De Oliviera Souza. Midfielders: Jean Raphael Vanderlei Moreira, Marinaldo Cicero da Silva, Marcos Antonio Miranda Filho, David Aparecido De Oliviera Jr, Arthur Santa Rita De Lima, Anderson Hernanes C. Andrade Lima. Strikers: Velber Augusto Pantoja Conceicao, Roger Rodrigues Da Silva, Paulo Gomes De Matos, Caiuby Francisco da Silva, Marcelino Junior Lopes Arruda, Pablo Freita Cardosos De Mello.