Iraqi league splits central zone for better security

The Football Associatoon of Iraq has split the Baghdad (central) group of the Iraqi League into two zones to restart the current season there by 15 February. The league was originally divided into three geographical groups (North, South and Central) but while the North and South groups started playing last December the matches in the Central group were delayed due to the security situation.

Following the subdivision draw, Al Zawra has been slotted with Al Talaba (students), Naft, Kahraba and Al Adala in one pool with Al Quwa Al Jawiya (Air Force), Al Shorta (Police), Al Sena and Al Jaish (Army) in the other. The former will play at Karbala, 100km south of Baghdad, while the latter will play at the Shaab Stadium in Baghdad behind closed doors.