AFC Player of the Year points system revised

The Asian Football Confederation has revised its Most Valuable Player points system which is used to determine the AFC Player of the Year. The eligibility criteria for selecting the best player of Asia underwent a "major and scientific" revision in 2006 and the winner, Khalfan Ibrahim of Qatar, was chosen on the basis of a weighted ranking system which took into account the number of MVP nominations earned in key AFC, FIFA and UEFA competitions. According to AFCMedia the MVP points system which is proposed to be used this year is as follows:

National Team matches

FIFA World Cup Finals -60 points
FIFA World Cup qualification (group and final round) - 25 points
AFC Asian Cup Finals - 40 points
AFC Asian Cup qualification (group and final round) - 25 points
AFC Challenge Cup - 20 points
Olympic Football Competition Finals - 30 points
Olympic Football Competition qualification (group and final round) - 20 points

Club matches

AFC Champions League - 20 points
AFC Cup - 15 points
AFC President’s Cup - 10 points
UEFA Champions League - 20 points
UEFA Cup - 15 points

No points will be awarded for the MVP nominations in inter-continental competitions (example: AFC-OFC, AFC-UEFA) as these are considered friendly matches.